Blood. Sweat. Tears. Publish!

Join us
Featured News
Elevate Your Writing with The Writers Grotto
Register for our summer classes today!
Featured News
Join us for the next Reading + Meeting on June 21st!
Upcoming Classes & Events
MM/DD
MM/DD
Today
ddd, MMM. DD
7:00-8:30pm PT
Community Event - Celebrate Alta's Issue 27 at City Lights
7:00-8:00pm PT
Spring 2024 Classes Virtual Open House
7:00-8:00pm PT
Summer Classes Virtual Open House
6:30-9:00pm
Build a World, Seduce the World: How to Hook Your Film or TV Audience with Xandra Castleton
6:30-8:30pm PT
Storytelling: Revise and Refine: You're Almost There! With Audrey Ferber
6:00-8:00pm PT
Plotting Your Novel with Anoop Judge
6:00-8:00pm PT
Flash Fiction: Little Stories with a Big Kick with Jenny Bitner Spring 2024
6:00-8:00pm PT
Reading & Writing the Personal Essay with Mark Wallace
6:00-8:00pm PT
Autofiction: Combining Memoir and Fiction with Jenny Bitner Summer 2024
6:00-8:00pm PT
Connecting with Your Writer's Voice with Britta Stromeyer
6:00-7:00pm
Spring Write-In with Rowena Leong Singer
5:30-8:00pm PT
Fund Your Writing Project with Lyzette Wanzer
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: September 20th, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: November 15th, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: August 16th, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: June 21st, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: May 17th, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting and New Member Welcome: April 19th, 2024
5:00-7:00pm PT
Reading + Meeting: March 15th, 2024
5:00-6:30pm
Explore the Poetry of Science with Jenny Qi
5:00-6:30pm
Explore the Poetry of Science with Jenny Qi
5:00-6:30pm
Explore the Poetry of Science with Jenny Qi
5:00-6:00pm PT
The Writers Grotto Salesforce Words & Stories Series, Feb. 29th *Postponed*
5:00-6:00pm
Spring Write-In with Rowena Leong Singer
4:30pm
Members Only: Book Club - "A Council of Dolls" by Mona Susan Power
4:00-6:00pm PT
Community Event - Moving Breast Cancer Memoirs by Wildfire Magazine
3:00-4:30 p.m. PT
Members Only: Essay/Memoir Workshop Group
1:00-2:30pm PT
Plan Your Novel in 6 Weeks with Lisa Lerner
1:00-2:00pm
Spring Write-In with Sabina Khan-Ibarra
1:00-2:00pm
Spring Write-In with Sabina Khan-Ibarra
12:30-1:30pm
Spring Write-In with Xandra Castleton
12:30-1:30pm
Spring Write-In with Xandra Castleton
12:00-1:00pm
Spring Write-In with Celeste Chan
12:00-1:00pm
Spring Write-In with Celeste Chan
12:00-1:00pm
Spring Write-In with Janine Kovac
12:00-1:00pm
Spring Write-In with Lisa Lerner
11:00am-12:00pm
First Page Feedback: Short Story with Sabina Khan-Ibarra
11:00am-12:00pm
First Page Feedback: Personal Essay with Audrey Ferber
11:00am-12:00pm
First Page Feedback: Personal Essay with Audrey Ferber
10:00am-1:00pm PT
A Writer's Inventory: Build Your Own Memoir Prompts with Susan Ito
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Revise Your Novel with Scrivener with Janine Kovac
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00am-12:00pm PT
Members Only: Remote Coworking Session
10:00-11:30am PT
How to Write for Educational Publishing with Lisa Lerner
8:00-9:00am PT
Let's NaNoWriMo! with Lisa Lerner
Member Spotlight
Chino Lee Chung
Chino Lee Chung is a queer Chinese Mexican personal essay writer, grassroots activist, and is currently working on a collection of essays that integrate his social activism with his intersectional identities. He is a recipient of the 2024-2025 San Jose State Steinbeck Fellowship and holds an MFA from the California College of Arts. His work appears in Gender Queer: voices from beyond the sexual binary, Our Family Coalition Newsletter, and is an Assistant Fiction Editor at 14 Hills Literary Magazine.
Featured Work
Karaoke Queen
A legal assistant by day becomes a karaoke queen by night to grab a second chance at love in this joyfully queer rom-com, perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Alexis Hall. For Rex Araneta, his college sweetheart Aaron Berry was always the one who got away. So when he finds out that Aaron is now living in the same town and needs help saving his karaoke bar, it’s Rex to the rescue. Or more like Regina Moon Dee, Rex’s internet-famous drag queen alter ego. Even if no one can know the identity of the man behind the makeup. As Regina’s popularity grows, Rex’s ruse becomes more difficult to keep under wraps. It even becomes a family affair with his mom and sister helping to keep his secret. It’s dawning on Rex that he’s hidden this side of himself away for far too long . . . and perhaps his real shot at love is to reveal his true self. And be loved for all that he is.
Join Us.
The Writers Grotto is a home for writers of all levels. Find your perfect class, grow as a writer in our fellowship program, or join our community of established writers as a member.
Get a Lit Start.
Lit Start books written by The Writers Grotto. Lit Starts on Memoir, Humor, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Dialogue,  Character & Action
Little Books of Writing Prompts created by the Writers Grotto.
Lit Start books written by The Writers Grotto. Lit Starts on Memoir, Humor, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Dialogue,  Character & Action